Could this be GF?

Posted , 3 users are following.

I'm an 18 y/o student and have not been feeling quite right these past few weeks..it started with a headache, aching limbs and general fatigue (which the dr. put down to my anxiety and increased my meds for that, after a negative blood test for anaemia and coeliac disease), but I've had a persistent sore throat and swollen glands in my neck for about 2 weeks now and they're not going away... I keep waking up in the night drenched in sweat and just feel hot and shaky most of the time. Today I've lost my appetite as well (which is unusual for me because I'm always hungry) and my motivation to write essays is at an all time low. Should I ask the Dr about it when I see him for a medication review on Friday? I'm always anxious that I come across as a bit of a hypochondriac because one of my OCD obsessions manifests itself in health anxiety.

'm really worried if it is glandular fever because I have 2 close friends at uni who both had really bad bouts of it and one developed CFS sad any advice would be gratefully received!

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Berry,

I can understand your worries and why you think it might be glandular fever. But don't jump the gun it might not be too, and even if it is it will get better. I've had it myself and it is a nasty virus but it does pass over after time. Especially at your age the younger you are the shorter the illness will last. It could be as little as 4-6 weeks for some, for some it can last a bit longer.