cramping

Posted , 10 users are following.

i’m 14 weeks post op and i’m still learning to walk correctly, my bend is at 90 degrees and improving every week. 

i have trouble sleeping, i take muscle relaxer and i still wake up with severe cramps in my knee. i excercise every day.  has anyone gone through this? does it get better? I have no idea what to take to have a good nights sleep. 

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lorraine I’m 5 weeks post op on my 2nd TKR I had my first TKR in Oct 2016 and it took me 5-7 months last time to feel back to normal last time,  I remember thinking never again but here I am recovering again,  proof that it does indeed get better.  My first knee had never got more than 90 bend but is doing well and my new knee 5 weeks on is still too swollen and won’t bend at all yet.  Sleepless nights and cramps are back again but this time round I know things will improve with time so please try not to feel down.  It’s a brutal surgery and recovery can be long and harsh but will be worth it in the end.  My Gp gave me quinine sulphate for the cramps and last night I got a full 6 hours without waking up so might be worth speaking to your GP,   Hope you start to feel brighter soon 💐

• Posted

Hi Lorraine,

After another night of pain and general discomfort, I used frozen peas on my knees, I then really stretch my knee and point my toes. I really feel for you as it is so uncomfortable.

I also listen to audiobooks that you can find on youtube. I know it sounds odd but I try to focus on the story and eventually drift off. I find it helps. Good luck.

• Posted

Hi Lorraine, you are still early in your recovery & unfortunately disturbed sleep goes with the territory! It does improve, slowly you will find the cramps easing, but it's still worth you having a chat with your GP to see what can be done to help you.

I am nearly 18 months from TKR on my right knee & 4 on my left & do not have these problems any more. So believe me it does end!