Crippling Anxiety at Uni and Exams

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi!

I am a first year BioChem student, I have been suffering with anxiety and depression since september when I moved out from home and to uni.

I don't know what to do I am getting palpatations, feeling like I am going to throw up all the time.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Anxiety flares up constantly with periods of high stress. I know that feeling well, especially with IBS as well. Everyday I could literally make myself sick through stress and panic in uni.

I would advise seeing a GP and asking about it. Given you have exams though, stay away from antidepressants as the initial side effects aren't great. They are to quick to hand them out and you don't want to miss exams because of it.

Ask about Propranolol. It's a beta blocker and get it in a small dose like 10mg. I have gotten through a lot with this! Interviews, presentations etc. It tackles the anxiety and flight mode by numbing the adrenal response, so for me it stops the physical sensations of anxiety like the shakes, palpitations, dizziness etc, it calmed the sick feeling to. It's not a cure, but enables you to calm down enough physically to get through a day!

Given you are in uni, ask about therapy or support? Universities normally have a brilliant support network and you'll get help probably instantly. You'd be surprised how many students are in your shoes but keep a front on in public. Speak to a lecturer you trust.

I battled Anxiety throughout uni, and it was hell, only in my final year of cracking was it, that I seeked help. Kicked myself for not doing it sooner!

Hope this helps

• Posted

I can't take Beta blockers I have quite bad athma on 4 inhalers and tablets. 

I will pop into the GP in the week, How do you feel now like say you was to stop the beta blocker would you be evern worse say dependant on it or?

• Posted

Oh sorry to hear that.