crohn's

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all, my name is nick i have had crohn's for 12 years now and then diagnosed with coilitis just before christmas last year. I have had 6 operations for crohn's upto now removing most of my small bowel. Then in febuary just gone i had more surgery because of colitis, leaving me with a end colostomy. plus they removed more of my small bowel, im penciled in for more surgery after crimbo for a total colectomy and maybe TPN tubes due to lack of small bowel. 

​But the question i want to ask is, does anyone have problems with their colostomy bags coming free from the skin? the problem i have is, im a roofer which involves bending most of the day. I use the salts convex bags and belts BUT! i find they still come away from the skin on the top right hand side next to my scar? they don't come off enough for me to get in a mess, but just down to the convex part. Or so that there is a small gap for wind to escape. I have tried a few differant bags from coloplast with still no joy, if not worse? and pretty soon i will have my stoma for life so i need to sort these little things out.

i will be very greatful for anybodys help or ideas.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Nick

Sorry to hear you have been having problems with your bag coming away. The last thing you need when you're up on a roof!

have you tried Salts SecuPlast security strips? They're available on prescription and are a sort of half moon shape of tape (like the aloe type material that Salts bags have) that you stick over the edges of the bag once it's in place. So long as your skin is dry once they're put on they stick like the proverbial poop to a blanket! I used them when swimming abroad on holiday and they stayed in place until the next bag change - even though my skin was a bit sweaty due to the sort of temperatures we don't get at home!