Crohnes

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi All, 

I am pretty new to all this, I was diagnosed with crohns in October 2015, so still waiting to really start my meds. I was also diagnosed with a stomach ulcer so agian more medication for that . At present I am on Azathioprine 25mg and Oneprazole 20mg. I have an appointment on the 19th January to see the GI (cant spell it )biggrin so hopefully be a little more clued up on the condition , any info from you guys would be great mainly on what to expect and really what happens next . 

Thanks 

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi wee lady sorry you have had to join the club 😳 But there is lots of advice on this site. I had stomach ulcer to and the Omeprazole is brilliant. You may have to try different treatments to ease your crohns symptoms as everyone responds differently. I ended up having surgery to remove part of my bowel in 2010 due to obstructions but have been doing well since. I wish you luck for the future and remember there are lots of us here to help you so don't feel alone.
  • Posted

Hope your g.i. Appt goes well, crohns uk is a good resource for info.
  • Posted

Hi Wee lady,

I have had crohn's for 52 years and had many resections of small bowel the last was August of 15 and still have inflammation and a narrowing. I also am on azathioprine 50mg 1xday, and also pentasa 2 4xper day. I haven't had a ulcer but crohns can develope from the mouth to the anas. Lot of people on here can give you more information. Wish you well and good health.

• Posted

If you are on Aza then you have certainly started your meds . If that suppresses the main symptoms you may be on it for some time.

I didn't tolerate Aza and went on 6-MP and been on that for  5 months now. Your GI appointment is a 3 month review I think to see how you are tolerating the drugs and your general health.

My GI did not give me too much info on CD but the IBD nurses did thereafter.