CRPS low mood, doesn't help!! Loss of license.

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I've beat this illness 13 years ago, but after an accident breaking my right leg and requiring surgery a year and a half ago, I've been left with CRPS again. In warrior mode I've soldiered on and kept upbeat, it's took a while and is still painful but I am back riding my horse, the feeling of freedom out weighs the pain. I feel the way to beat this disease is to keep active no matter how bad it gets.

However, a shocking letter from DVLA has ripped my heart out, they have taken my license off me as they say I am unsafe driving (I've been driving over a year safely without a problem) it has taken them a year to decode this. I'm an HGV driver with the job centre on my back to get a job!!

Now I'm lying on the sofa in excruciating pain, unable to get to my horse and wondering where I go from here??

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Karens176,

I'm sorry that you lost your freedom. I too have lost my freedom. So, I hired a retired woman to drive me to appointments and errands.

She and I have become great friends now. We shop, go to lunch...

The has given me some freedom. Perhaps you could hire someone to drive you to ride your horse.

Good luck,

Lynn

• Posted

Hi Karen you do sound very brave and strong.

Can you appeal the decision ? Get a lawyer involved to appeal it with help of a doctor ??

As you say we need to keep moving so try get up and move around maybe pain will go down

• Posted

Hi Karen 176!

I'm so sorry you are going through this. We've already lost so much in having this disease! I'm just wondering why they took your license.

Was your accident that broke your leg a vehicle accident? Did the letter give you a reason why they took your drivers license? Did your Dr send in something to your DVLA that showed the medications you're on? BTY. what does DVLA stand for? We have the DMV, Department of Motor Vehicles in Texas