crunching sound

Posted , 7 users are following.

I am now 8 weeks post THR and doing really well.  However, as I'm now walking up stairs normally, I've noticed a bit of a chruching sound (and feel)  giong on in my joint and wondered if anyone else has experienced anything similar, so in other words, is it normal?  I'm a fitness instructor hoping to start teaching again in a couple of weeks so don't want to risk anything..

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

oops should have read as 'crunching' sound....... also it only happens when I am walking up stairs and weigh bear on my new hip.... :-/ 

• Posted

Hi Fredamac -- I don't have an answer to your question.  I'm at 2.5 weeks post op.  I'll keep an eye on this thread and see if you get some replies that I can remember if it happens to me.  Great that you are a fitness instructor.  You must have gone into this fairly strong.    Hugs.

• Posted

Hi, Yes my hip tends to crunch and click at lot. I can also feel it sort of grinding too. This is my second revision and I know I have a lot of inflammation and fluid around the joint. I've also got massive muscle and tissue loss due to the other two failiures, so I think this may be the cause of mine. However I've got a Stryker Duel mobility hip which has more movement with it. Do ypu know what you have? X

• Posted

Mine is more of a clunk, like when you crack your knuckles but muffled.  It's a bit of a weird sensation but think it's fairly normal - it's not painful.  I am 13 or so weeks, with an uncemented hip, not sure if this makes a difference to progress it's the last couple of weeks I have really got going, walking unaided etc. But my fitness level is a big fat zero so trying to work on this - with a bad back too.  Hope you get back to your fitness duties, if you've any free time I could do with a few sessionslol.

• Posted