Daily Persistent Headache for 9 Months

Posted , 8 users are following.

This is my first time writing on a forum and I feel a little nervous about it!

I am 23 years old and for nine months I have suffered with a daily persistent headache.

The headache is present every single second of every single day and the pain is very often severe. The majority of the time I feel as though my head is literally going to explode and all I can do is cry out in pain. I also get stabbing pain around my temples and eyes which can cause my vision to go blurry. My headache also causes ear ache, ringing in my ears, jaw pain and a sore throat which leaves me feeling completely overwhelmed with pain.

I was previously a happy and healthy person enjoying life but after four months of suffering with the pain I had to leave my job and become a prisoner in my own home. As a result I have become isolated from so many people and so many things in my life.

My pain is greatly exacerbated by any type of routine physical activity so I am forced to spend my days in bed in the dark and away from any noise.

In September I went to A&E and I was sent for an urgent MRI of my brain as the doctor suspected that I had a build up of pressure on my brain. Luckily the MRI came back normal and the neurologist I saw assured me that nothing sinister was going on. Of course that's great news but this also means that I still have no idea whats happening to me.

I have also developed severe neck pain which means I am unable to turn my head without horrible pain. My trapezius muscles are also very swollen which often causes my left arm to become completely rigid and unmoveable for hours at a time. In October I also began to feel pain and aches throughout my entire body. I constantly feel as though I have the flu and as though my body is so weak. My GP thinks that I may have Fibromyalgia but nothing has been confirmed.