Dark/Black Bits in my stool

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi, I'm a 14-year-old girl and I'm waiting for my results (everyone I asked and even my doctor is suspecting IBS). Ok so today, I had a BM and I saw these dark bits in my stool. The stool is not dark or black or red. It is kinda orange-brown? So well this morning, I had slight diarrhea, I didn't see any of the black bits, however. But my most recent bowel movement had lots of these black/dark bits. It's not really specks, more like "strings" (not sure how to describe it) and the sizes vary. I'm scared its blood or something like that. I did have lots of dark leafy foods and the bits does looks like chewed up, undigested food. But I'm still a bit worried and stressed. I occasionally get specks too. Would this be bleeding or just food I ate? 

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Katy! I feel a bit better about myself because someone around my age isn't experiencing the same or almost the same thing as me. I'm no doctor (heck, I'm barely 13) but I think it's just the food you ate. I'm trying to get in my fiber, more iron, more veggies and fruit, the healthy stuff, you know? When I eat a big salad with lots of leafy greens or just lots of veggies (sometimes blueberries are the culprit of the dark bits too), I tend to get a lot of these long, well it also vary in size, dark pieces mixed with my stool. I'm pretty sure it's just undigested food but if it's not gone in a few days, I recommend checking with your doctor. 

Btw I'm actually waiting for my results too! Everyone is saying that I most likely have IBS (apparently we're too young to have cancer, it's very rare). My doctor assured me it's IBS my aunt who is a GI doctor also think that too. I know what you're feeling.

• Posted