Daughter's Anxiety

Posted , 3 users are following.

My daughter has always had fairly high social anxiety.  About a month and a half ago she went on Sertaline and it got even worse.  She's a freshman in high school and wont go to school.

I spent a week or so trying to figure out what to do about that and moved her to a much smaller charter school (which she agreeed to, she never did like big schools) but she wouldn't go there either.  I got her doctor and school to give her homebound statis so she can do her work from "home."  (Or in this case, from my job, I'm a teacher working in an elementry school and we found her some space so she wouldn't have to talk to anyone or be in a classroom with a bunch of kids).  They upped that Sertraline dose a week ago.

She's never avoided my school before and I was all ready to go back to work after a week and a half off.  And then, no, she's a shaking, curled up ball this morning.  I don't think it's just avoiding school (no one avoids school by spending 2 hours rocking back and forth on the ground) and she wouldn't come out of grandma's sewing room to eat dinner when we were over there yesterday.  So, I'm not working today either.  Probably not all week either.  Next week?  Who knows.  I've got 25 kids not getting an education and 1 child at home who is clearly pretty miserable.

I'm seeing her primary care doctor today about taking her off the Sertraline.  Her therapist is working on getting the psychiatrist to contact us ASPA (they work for the same company, so she can go talk to their medical desk in person) but who knows when I'll actually hear from them.

I keep her therapist (who she sees twice a week) up to date.  But this is super stressful for both of us at this point.  I'm not married.  My family doesn't live in this city.  We are on our own.  I'm missing loads of work and she's getting worse.

Advice?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted