Day 2 of citalopram 20mg to treat my anxiety & depression

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've always had social anxiety while grown up but after having my 1 1/2 yr old depression showed itself much more. I tried to blame it on hormone fluctuation but then my Dr. had my try citalopram. On day 1 I did notice dizziness and headache but after eating a solid meal that subsided. I did also lose my train of thought while holding a convo. W/coworkers yesterday and I thought that was odd for me. Please tell me if anyone else had any stange side effects while starting this med. This is my first time reaching out for help and admiting my issues to anyone including my Dr. But I have to get well for my son now. I have a family history from my mom and sister of manic bipolar depression and anxiety but I tried to deny and fI got the battle solo as I saw it as being a failure to ask for help. Thanks for any discussion on my first step at trying to get my life under control.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Stephanie, I am also on my first time taking Citalopram. I'm on day 11 of 10mg and to say it's been eventful would be an understatement. The first week or so can be rough for some with many side effects but I also believe I was heading for a lot of this stuff anyway with my anxiety and depression. People with a lot more experience of this medication than me have reassuringly said these things are all normal in the beginning and will settle down. My anxiety got worse on the second day and I have had panic attacks but like I said I was heading this way and that is why I went on medication. There is fantastic support on these forums and everyone is genuinely willing each other to get well. Keep posting your experience as you'll see you are not alone on your journey.
    • Posted