Day 4 of Opiate withdrawal

Posted , 14 users are following.

Hi

I have been battling a codeine addiction for about 5 years now and have posted about it somewhere in this forum.

I recently was on a taper plan with my GP and doing OK apart from some nasty symptoms (RLS, Insomnia, Aniexty).

Earlier this week something occured which meant I was forced to go cold turkey, I had no choice.

It is now day 4 and it has been hell.  Contstant Dhiarrea, Nausea, Pain, yawning, goosebumps, RLS (not just in my legs but my arms too, anyone else had that?), insomnia, etc etc...  I am trying to stay hydrated and eat but it just comes back up or goes straight through me (nice). 

As its day 4 I am not sure if I feel better or not, I still cant eat, sleep, etc....  Ive read it can take 7 days to 2 weeks and the RLS and insomnia can last for months...

I've had a lopt of support from people on here, Caroline8, Ritchie, cliveonpatches and I am so grateful for that as I have had no support from my partner and my Doctor hasn't been the greatest.

I'm in a real low place at the moment but I am going to keep going, I havent got any codeine in the house and I cant go out and buy any either....

I am back at the docs on tuesday and I am going to beg her for some gabapentin or robaxin (as these 2 are life savers for rls, insomnia apprentley? Carolineq8 recommended this and I have read about it everywhere too,  if you read the patient leaflet for gabapentin it says its used to treat RLS) and I dont want any more codeine my minds made up of that.

IS gabapentin or robaxin addictive or abusable ?  IF so I don't I will get any but I am literally going to beg.  My doc advised me to join a support group and I'm going to tell her that my support group have all reccomended gabapentin as a life saver....  If I do get some what will the dosage be ? will it effect me in anyway or will it jut take away the RLS ? 

Thanks

Ian xx

0 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted