Day 7 after foot fracture

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all... after falling from low level stairs last week , I've managed to fracture the top of my foot. I've since had appointment with Fracture Clinic & I'm currently wearing a lovely fashionable support boot for the foreseeable future. I know it's only early days - but did anyone else have extreme pain first thing in the morning when you put foot down? (in boot). It's manageable after about 10-15 steps... but those first few are horrible.. and I don't want to do any other damage 😔 Hope this heals soon... I hate being so helpless... especially living alone. I've also got a new job to start in 4 weeks. Thank you 👍

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi smigger15,

Sorry to hear about what happened, I hope you're able to recover quickly.

I'm not a medical expert, but I believe it could go two ways. First, your foot could be stiff from not moving it. Second, it may be painful because its fractured and could be causing further damage. From my experience, just because the pain is less, doesn't mean walking more is harmless. I'm pretty sure a doctor would advise to limit walking (if possible). However, if you've gone to the doctor and they gave you this boot to wear, whatever you're experiencing is probably normal. You can always give the clinic a follow-up call and ask this question.

I can sympathize with you as I was recently injured and also live alone. I'm 26 and was in my first car accident. I was rear ended and sent into oncoming traffic. I'm happy to be alive, I should have been killed, paralyzed, or severely injured. After the accident, I collected a few things and exited my vehicle. (I only have a fractured vertebrae in my back!

I hope you have a speedy recovery. Congrats on the new job!

image.)image

• Posted