Debilitating, can't walk at all. Help

Posted , 28 users are following.

The other day I woke up with pain in my foot but ignored it and kept on with my day. By the end of the night I was in so much pain I could not walk. So I went to the ER and there they said I have plantar fasciitis. The doctor only gave me a note to be excused from work for 1 day. Mind you I can't walk. In the morning I made an appointment with a podiatrist. He put me on steroids and took me off work for 3 weeks. I am really handicapped and never been through anything like this before. I really and hopping around in 1 foot or crawling a baby to get around the house. Please somebody tell me this get better. This is horrible.

1 like, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Edited

I am a retired physician and plantar fasciitis patient.  Here's my story.  My plantar fasciitis began around February 2016.  After about four months, it completely resolved. 

Here's what I think.  Plantar fasciitis is inflammation in the area of the attachment of the plantar fascia to the heel bone.  This begins from trauma and/or some minimal tearing of the plantar fascia (just a few fibers) that results, naturally, in inflammation which is the body's way of healing any tissue injury.  Inflammation hurts until it heals and resolves.  

So what's so difficult about curing P.F.?  Well we walk on it!!!  Let's say we take 5000 steps a day.  Imagine inflammation of your elbow, (i.e. tennis elbow).  Imagine taking your sore "tennis elbow" and wacking it against the wall, 5000 times a day.  Think it would heal quickly?  I don't either.