Decision to have thyroidectomy after atypical cells found in FNA biopsy and post thyroidectomy info

Posted , 17 users are following.

Hi! I'm a 34 year old female and I just want to share my story with others who might be trying to decide whether or not to have a total thyroiodectomy after getting a thyroid nodule biopsy and they found "atypical" cells and did not get a definite answer one way or the other if it was cancer.  I was unsure of what to do when my endocrinologist suggested I have my whole thyroid removed even they they weren't definitely sure it was cancer (which I initially thought was seriously overreacting).  I came to the internet first trying to find others with symptoms and stories of the aftermath and that helped me feel a little more comfortable with my decision.  I hope this will help others with their decision.  I am not an expert on this in any way.