Dental Abscess drained but still hurting

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting. Anyways, here is my story.

About 3 weeks ago, I had an abscess on my first molar on the left side. I randomly felt like I had the flu. Laid in bed with a fever, body aches and the chills. Next thing I knew, I was in agony. I had a cavity and I quickly realized that I had an abscess (because of all the horror stories I had heard). The dentist began a root canal on me when the antibiotics I was prescribed starting working. She temporarily filled the tooth as we waited to see if my insurance would cover the rest of the root canal. I felt almost 90% better.

Fast forward to this Sunday (yesterday). I had an appointment set and ready for Monday to finish the work. All of a sudden on Sunday night, I took a look in the mirror and noticed my face was swelling. It seemed to be happening pretty fast. From my cheek near my eye to my chin. And it was getting difficult to swallow. So I called up the emergency line for my dentist and was told to go to the ER. I went and they have me IV antibiotics, anti inflammatory and painkillers. I felt way better and the swelling was getting better. They monitored me for a little while and eventually discharged me since they knew I would be at the dentist soon.