dental infection

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi i am under a private dentist and had a filling 3 weeks ago, since then i have had really bad jaw ache. I went back this week as had an appointment for another small replacement filling, they investigated the original tooth and thought the pain was done to exposed route and put a filling over the side of the tooth. The pain is now really bad in the jaw and the 2nd tooth they filled this week has now developed an abscess over the injection point. This has burst and im in a load of pain, any ideas what could do this. I've never had problems after fillings before and not sure what to do as the costs are high.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Kermitt. I'm no expert but if I were you I'd go back. It doesn't sound as though your dentist has done a great job. If there are other dentists in the practice I would ask to see one of them. I had to swap once as I had no confidence in the new person I was allotted when my original dentist retired. The practice changed me over without fuss. As you are paying privately you are entitled to receive good treatment. I don't know where you would stand re: costs but if something has to be redone I don't see why you should pay twice.
    • Posted

Thanks for the responce Judyb not having a great time of it, went back today and she basically questioned whether I had burned my mouth. I said I couldn't eat or drink and then she agree that the swelling and puss could have been from the injection and bacteria etc.  She doesnt think its an absvcess. She had a look at the other tooth and took x-ray didn't see an abscess but think root canal is the best thing.  This will cost me £625 if I want it done!  She has given me amoxicillin and metronidazole for a week!