depressed ex boyfriend/ Co worker want to be friends, what should I do?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I've been talking to my ex for 9 months and we've been official for 3 months. We met at work; he trained me and he sits behind me. Everything started as any relationship should, slow, fun, and exciting. Once we became official my ex and I discovered a lot of issues he had

Background of him..he only had 1 gf in college for months..after that he just has been dating and messing around with girls. He has a good heart is honest. In his life has had 2 other episodes of depression, one which he injured his knee and could no longer play basketball age 21 and other age 24 when he left a job in IT because was not for him. He fell depression for 3 years. Then a year and half later age 27 got current job. When I started he looked so positive, up beat, ...once we became official he began overthinking my actions, became easily sensitive, insecure ..but despite that he opened up and said how he enjoyed me how he never felt like this for anyone how much he cared and even thought of the future..despite little awkwardness I was happy and our official 3 months he came with speech he needed space ..we almost broke up since I didn't see it coming. He's attitude in life had changed ..I saw him not working out like each morning, not motivated at work, hard on himself and career life health etc.. a week ago he said he thought it'd better if we weren't together. He said was hardest decision but needed to focus on him, he cried, stated how much I meant to him but didn't want to hurt me. He said he knew it was best thing. .he had to work on him. I called next day saying if we're to be friend he needed to seek help how we had talked about. .he snapped and I got upset. He has been attempting to contact me, text, calls, letter and at work but idk what to do.