Depression and the elderly

Posted , 9 users are following.

I am 75 years old and in fairly good health. I also have pretty much everything I always wanted: nice house, enough money, and pets. However, I am feeling very depressed. Is this just an old age thing?

1 like, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

I don't really know but I am just nearing 60 and things are hard.  I have lost my closest friends - they died.  I have no social life, I work in a job I hate.  I can't manage the mortgage.  The only friend I have is battling his 3rd cancer.

It's much harder when you are older to connect with people especially when you have no family

• Posted

Misty, I'm so sorry about what you are going through. Thank you for taking the time to reply to my message.
  • Posted

Hi Ellen. I dont think its just an old age thing. I am in my fifties, so I'm not an expert! - but I have read quite alot that surveys show that older people seem to be happier in general than younger ones, unless they are lonely - which can be a real problem.

Depression can be treated at any age, and there is no reason why yours cant be. You could ask your'e doctor about it - maybe a course of antidepressants would help.

• Posted

thats all every one can do go to your doctors they will help you
    • Posted

Well Magnus, I have caught one for the first time! These discussion forums are for allowing people to make up their own minds up. Not to have someone dictating that they keep away from anti-depressants. If it was not for anti-depressants there would be more people taking their own lives.

You talk about surveys but did you know that in the older population there are more people per population taking their own life. It is purely up to the patient with the problem and their GP/Psychiatrist to discuss the best course of action to take.