Depression with PHN?

Posted , 28 users are following.

Anyone have depression with PHN?  I'm a retired psychologist with 26 years of PHN in right eye, forehead and scalp.  I have nothing to gain [not looking for patients, I'm retired after 40 years practice].  I have learned very helpful ways to manage depression and PHN, and have worked with many patients with chronic pain and depression.  If interested, let me know.  I hope I can point some people with this difficult condition in a helpful direction that will improve their lives.

1 like, 251 replies

251 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Thanks again for your advice, something we value since you're in your 25th year of pain, you could write a PhD thesis on the subject... I have to say I'm still struggling with a kind of denial it's there. Now going into my second year of constant headache, not serious scratching that'd draw blood, it's the pain inside the head. And the fact is I've not completely accepted the fact that I'm stuck with this for the rest of my days. So it's this, the reluctance to just have it there in my life - be with it. Even though I understand what you're saying, and there are times when I see it as pain management, there are still these thoughts that come crashing in and it's pain treatment I'm after, how to make it go away, etc. These kinds of thoughts are not constructive and I hear you saying sort out the helpful and unhelpful thoughts, CBT. It's the way to go, I can see that, just haven't got the priorities organized. Maybe also because I'm taking a high dose of Gabapentin, 1800 per day and often it's more than that. The drug makes it confusing sometimes, can't seem to focus on things that are easeful, the dark thoughts that don't do anybody good get hold of me, and one by one I have to push them aside. Even so, it's really good that you've entered this forum Charlie and we can all say you've been there, got the Tshirt. Yes it's helpful, thanks

• Posted

Hey Ron,