Dermoid Ovarian Cyst - Open Surgery

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey,

I'm new to this but wondered if anyone can enlighten me. I'm 19 and have open surgery on the 16th to take out what we suspect is a at least, 18cm dermoid ovarian cyst. My surgeon said he has operated on bigger but not with someone my age. We aren't sure whether I will have a bikini cut or cut upwards. We also aren't sure if they will remove one of my ovaries as there is a 98-99% chance it is attached to one. I was just wondering what laparotomy was like? How long are people off work and struggle with normal things? and really just what the whole experience is like? I know everyone is different, just looking for a brief idea of what I have to come.

Thanks smile 

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi - I had the same surgery in December. I had 2 cysts - one was 10cm and the other 2cm. Because of my age (51) I had both ovaries and tubes removed. One of the ovaries was not optional. 

The surgery went fine, no problems. I've got a bikini line incision that's about 6 inches across.

The one thing that surprised me was how painful it was after - mostly from the internal stitches. They will give you pain meds when you go home - do NOT stop taking them, you do not want the pain to get ahead of you. I was in the hospital for 2 nights and it would have been great for 3. It's really hard to get in and out of bed because you use those muscles - you'll need help with that initially. If you have stairs, they were no problem for me. I would make sure you buy a body pillow because you will be on your back for a while and I found in order to be comfortable my legs always had to be elevated to take pressure off the incision area from pulling. Also buy straws... just to take a drink while in bed while on our back is hard - the straws saved me!