developing product for patients with hand tremors

Posted , 3 users are following.

I am an engineering student from the US working on a project at the National University of Singapore, and I am developing a product to make it easier for people with hand tremors to unlock doors using keys. My team and I have been unable to find many people with hand tremors willing to talk to us, but we would really like to know what you would like to see in a product like this and how we can best help you. 

Some of the important criteria for the product that we have identified are: 

-should make key easy to grip 

-guide key to keyhole easily with correct orientation

-easy to operate

-compact 

Please comment if there are any other qualities that would be important to you.

Some other questions we have: 

-Would you prefer an attachment to your key to be smaller or larger? Which is easier for you to grip? 

-What issues do you encounter when trying to use keys? 

-How do you hold/use your key? 

-How much would you pay for a product like this? 

Anything helps, thank you! 

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Good morning.  I personally would suggest a larger and heavier attachment.  Although I was only recently diagnosed, it is my understanding that in the future i will need weighted utensils to help eat.  I also think a larger attachment will be easier to grab as the shaking makes it difficult to pin-point the intended object.  I do not have problems with grip yet.  Just issues with focused movement.  The more intentional my movement, the worse I shake.  I hope my feedback is helpful to you and others.  Thank you for doing research to help us.  I cannot comment on how much I would pay as I currently can open locks and start my car.  I soon will unable to be stable enough to disengage the alarm system though.  I am thinking when I cannot open a lock I should not be driving.  sad  My house is on keypad. 
  • Posted