Diagnosed last September. Still exhausted

Posted , 11 users are following.

Since diagnosed in September I still feel so exhausted and pain varies day to day. Taking 20mg Methotrexate and Folic Acid. Will this ever improve. I'm new to group any any advice would be appreciated.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi. I know how you feel. I started on 12.5mg methotrexate and have increased to 20mg with very little benefit. I had a big flare up so had a steroid injection which sorted it out. The methotrexate is making me feel sick constantly at the moment so I'm drinking lots of ginger tea. I've been assured that if this doesn't work there are other options such as biological treatment but due to the cost (approx 10k per year) I have to have other things before I can go onto it. However I've been assured that things will improve and I'm trying to keep a positive attitude as I know things will get better eventually. My rheumy nurse is amazing and I can talk to her about anything which helps and I know she is doing what she can to speed up the process. Hope you feel better soon - even if the treatment isn't working just yet at least you have a diagnosis so you can be treated - it took me 6 months of persuasion to see a rheumatologist because I was young so I "shouldn't" have  arthritis.
    • Posted

Hi h33919,