Diagnosed Pre Diabetic

Posted , 7 users are following.

I bought a monitor ,checked first thing this morning it read 6.2mmol/L is this o.k./ normal. I am new to all this so not quite sure what this should be.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi there Mary, sorry to hear your news.

You should not pay too much attention to low readings like the one you have quoted, as this will fluctuate a great deal during the day. 

Having been diagnosed as Pre-Diabetic your doctor will be watching your condition like a hawk, so there is no need for you to get stressed-out about your blood glucose readings.

I am Diabetic type 2 on medication, and have been for some time and know only too well that worrying about this condition will not make it any better.

No doubt the Diabetes nurse or your doctor will have already told you to watch your diet and to try and get some regular exercise, which is the best advice anyone at your stage of the disease should take.

Your doctor will now arrange regular 6 monthly HBA1c tests in order to  monitor how your condition progresses.

Please don't worry about individually low reading, but if the readings suddenly start rocketing to between 11 - 14mmol/L then my advice would be to get back to see your doctor asap.

All the best

• Posted

Mary,

I certainly would not worry. But I would do something about it. It did not used to be called "pre-diabetic" but was called "insulin resistant", or "metabolic syndrome". There is absolutely no inevitability that it will develop into full-blown diabetes, but often it does since many people will not make the lifestyle changes that prevent it.