Dialysis and T1 diabetes

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi just had 1st appointment with UK Nephrologist and told the ave Life Exp on dialisis fot t1 diabetics is only 5 years. Very alarming.

Would welcome any input on this many thanks indeed

Terry

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

I am not a doctor and only know what I read.  Yes the average is stated to be 5 years.  Of course this alarming.  But you must consider a few things.  That is a general average.  It is not specific to a particular age group.  Age is a factor.  The general cause of death due to t1 and dialysis is sudden cardiac failure.  Some studies for example say a person in their 40's with t1 and dialysis the average is 8 years.  Now a person on dialysis in their 70's or 80's is likely not going to survive the full 5 year average, so they bring down the overall average.  For example just in general a person on dialysis without t1, the average is just 10 years.  As ALWAYS there are people who survive much longer.  We can all give examples of people who survive well beyond the average.  Also in the average are people who simply die due to other things, not even related to t1 and to dialysis.    To be blunt.  A person could go perhaps double the average or even further and you could be that person.  Or a person could fall way short of the average and not achieve the 5 years.  All any of us can do is follow the best medical advice we can get.    I know it sounds Pollyanna but not a single healthy person can predict their life span.  The proverbial you can get hit by a bus, or die from the flu, or car accident, or heart attack, etc.  All anyone can do is live each day as you enjoy, hope for the best and remember the end comes for all of us one time or another.  Knowing when it will likely happen based on an average of course makes it difficult to have a clear mind.

• Posted

Hi Rick thats great advice

Thanks for taking time to reply