Diarrhea during the semester

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello,

I have a problem with diarrhea when I'm in college. I started studying a year ago. The first semester was OK, sometimes in the morning when I came to university I had to go to the toilet (not diarrhea) but after that was everything OK whole day. But since the second semester I have been suffering from diarrhea every day (now I'm in third semester). Usually my problem starts in the morning when I'm still home. Then at school I have to go to the toilet before every exercise/lecture and sometimes during them. But after school is everything OK, as soon as the last exercise/lecture is finished. I don't have diarrhea at home, sometimes I feel gassy or I have something like loud gurgling and growling (especially when I eat, for example, milk or mustard)... My pooping is very loud and explosive, sometimes is more sparse and sometimes not, I feel no pain. Besides this, I have no other stomach problems. My doctor sent me to a psychologist saying I was overloaded (and stress), it's true that I'm under stress (I have a lot of homeworks) so I thought it would solve my problem. But after a few psychologist visits and some weeks of exercise, yoga and other antistress exercises I feel no change. I don't think I can have these problems only from stress.

Has anyone had a similar problem?

I will be glad for any advice!

(sorry for my bad english)

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

It could be the food you regularly eat. Suggest you consult a registered dietition or nutritionist.

• Posted

I think there is a connection between your symptoms and college since that's when your bowel acts up and that stress is playing a part in your flare ups since you have less of a problem at home. You may have the start of IBS, so see a general doctor rather than a psychologist because other causes will need to be ruled out with tests. Try a food diary to see if you have any other food triggers.

• Posted