Diet and Diagnosis

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have yet to hear of any doctor asking about diet for anything but obvious conditions such as obesity, weight loss/gain, diabetes, gout and a few others. Through reading posts on this site for many conditions, it is apparent that many find dietary solutions to their ailments or at least that dietary changes or supplements have improved their wellbeing. Am I being too simplistic to wonder if questions about diet and a blood test for dietary deficienies should be standard practice for GP's? Having had Vit D defciency as a child (in the 1940/50's) with consequent treatment and now living in Scotland with insuffucent sunlight for daily needs, I now take supplements and feel the benefits. Fewer aches and pains and less lethargy. Am I mistaken or is it psychological?

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Dear inquistive,

If it`s pschological, like mind over matter and it obviously works for you then fine

But as an ex Paramedic I would have to say see your Doc, he might have a different oppinion to me.

Good luck and keep thinking.

• Posted

Hi, Thanks for you comment. After many years in Community Heath I've become more and more reluctant to have an ever increasing battery of medication to resolve what could be something that I could manage myself by a less toxic route. Having been on various medications for different ailments, many have produced unpleasant side effects. My GP would then prescribe more lotions, potions and pills to resolve the new symptoms. By better managing my diet and lifestyle I've now managed to reduce my medication to just one (for hypertension). The only reason I also take Vit D is that I have to avoid the sun as I'm rpone to BCC's and get SAD during the Winter here in Scotland. It took a lot of persuation with my GP but he now sees that my persistence has worked (for me at least). Thanks again, Ben
  • Posted