Differing symptoms from Prednisolone withdrawal or PMR flareup?

Posted , 16 users are following.

Can you tell any difference between Prednisolone withdrawal or PMR flareup?

I am pain free on an 8/7 split-dose of prednisolone but, last Monday night, I forgot my evening tablet for the first time in 4 months.  Before dawn, I felt unusually stiff and by breakfast I was experiencing symptoms rather different from PMR.  With PMR, I experience distinct bilateral pain in my shoulders and hips, which may extend to neck and thighs. 

All Tuesday, my neck and thighs were very stiff whereas hips and shoulders just felt heavy.  I had indistinct pain from neck to knees.  I took the missed prednisolone dose on top of my Tuesday morning dose and, by Wednesday, pain and stiffness were fast evaporating. 

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi, I am newly diagnosed (November 2017) with GCA & PMR, so I'm still learning... but I get these symptoms when I taper.  I reduce by 5 mg every 10 days (I was on 80mg, now on 60mg and yes, there have been glitches along the way!). On the day after I reduce, I get the bilateral pain in my shoulders and hips, a stiff neck, and my legs and buttocks feel heavy, like bags of cement. This stays with me about 4-5 days then slowly starts to dissipate.  By then I'm almost at the 10 day mark and reduce again, so it's a vicious circle!  The HealthUnlocked community seems to think it's steroid withdrawal, so I have been dealing with it.  I will mention to Rheumy, next time I go.  Hope you feel better!      

• Posted

I have been off pred for 9 years and have had no flare - lucky me. I had GCA and pmr but they started me on 20 mg which is far too low. But I never had any GCA pain. When I got to 5 mg (it is so long ago so I can be wrong about the dosage) I thought I could try to spread out the lowering period to make it easier for the body to adapt