difficult journey. started lexapro recently.

Posted , 6 users are following.

so hard to type this because my hands are trembling a lot today.

i started taking Lexapro 18 days ago. i was previously on Prozac for 3 years and weaned myself off from 40mgs over a 9 month period. either i weaned too fast or i have an imbalance that will always need medication. my mental health steadily declined after stopping prozac and 4 months later i had a meltdown from hell that resulted in 24/7 anxiety and depression i never had before. the doc put me back on prozac at 10mg and i was fine and feeling better for a week until we upped the dose to 20mg. my world then collapsed in panic and crawling out of my skin all day/night. i did not want to live so i reached out and was admitted to the mental hospital. they stopped the prozac i had been on for 14 days by then and started me on 10mg lexapro and gabapentin as needed to calm me down. i can't take benzos because i have a history of rapid tolerance and crippling withdrawals. during my 12 days at the hospital i gradually improved and got my appetite back. i lost so much weight from this. i felt crappy the first 4 days on lexapro but it got better and i was just functional enough to be released.