Difficulty walking after Implanation of stimulator.

Posted , 6 users are following.

I had a stimulator (BURST) implanted on 3/2/17.  I am having excruciating pain in the right buttocks going down outernpart of my leg to my foot.  This pain does not allow me to walk anywhere.....even ny own home.  It has not dissapated in any way shape or form.  I have had 3 reprogramming.

Tomorow I see both pain mgmt. and my rep/tech.  The stim is working but not alleviating pain to allow walking.

Just wanted to know if anyone else had this or is currently having this issue.

Thanks.

0 likes, 63 replies

63 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I've had a lot of experience with sciatica and stenosis.  But those conditions cause pain down the BACK of the leg, not the side of it.  Plus, surgery for my L2/L3 stenosis left me with a lot of post-op nerve pain on the FRONT of my thigh.  A lot of nerves run through the gluteus muscle in the buttocks so a lot of these conditions have that in common.

All of this depends on which nerve roots exiting the spine are involved.  Sciatica usually emanates from L4/L5 whereas my stenosis was at L2/L3.  I don't know which nerves affect the OUTER part of the leg.  That's a question for a neurosurgeon.

I'd start with finding out which nerves are involved with your particular leg pain and whether this is something that needs attention or will resolve post procedure.  For me, the stenosis was down the back of both legs while my post-op pain was in the front.  All depends on the nerve roots that got "disturbed" during the procedure.

A great topical medication is Voltaren Gel (RX in the US).  Helps a lot with deeper muscle pain.  Aspercreme with 4% Lidocaine is more of a numbing agent and helps with nerve pain.  If it's strictly nerve pain, then there are things like Lyrica, Neurontin and Gabapentin but all have side effects I will not go anywhere near.

• Posted