diognosed with Hypothyroidism today

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello. I am 34/M and was diognosed with Hypothyroidism today, after getting a blood test for something else. I need to get another blood test tomorrow. I am unsure of the severity of the syptoms in others but I am hoping that the following will soon come to an end:

- Anxiety

- Bad memory

- Foggy headed (feels like head is buried in sand)

- Sounds are different than usual

- Short tempered

- Very annoying tinnitus

- Crappy feeling all the time

- Thoughts are mixed up

I have been experienncing these symptoms for the past 3 months or so, some worse than others and I truIy just feel like crud. I am wondering if this could be a result of Hypothyroidism? I have just about lost the plot and am hoping something will get better soon. 

Thanks.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi Joel, yes many of the symptoms you describe are typical of hypothyroidism. Ask for your test results and share them here as it will help people respond with constructive advice. Doctors usually medicate with synthetic hormone, a low dose to begin with, so it can take weeks or a few months to get things sorted out. it's not an instant process so you will need to be patient.

one version of hypothyroidism is called Hashimoto's where the immune system attacks the thyroid, and diet, in particular going gluten free, can help with that as well as the medication. The test for that is antibodies so see if your doc will test for that.

• Posted