Discs

Posted , 4 users are following.

It is almost 2 years since i was diagnosed with 2 prolapsed discs and a lot of wear and tear on my back. I dont suffer with severe pain very much now but the feelings down my left side from my buttock to my foot can be unbarable. I was told not to bend by my GP but i work as a gardner and have to bend. I can only work for about 20 mins at a time and then my lower back becomes overly sore. I had an mri scan 1 and a 1/2 yrs ago and was told i would have to have an op to fix this and i have finaly got an appointment for tomorrow but i feel that the numbness and pins and needles have got a lot worse over this long time. Its strange but i have learned to live with this condition. I have read that the success rate is not very high.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi William,

Could I refer you to a previous thread entitled \"success rates\" posted by ged42 today as I replied here with the success rates (hope its ok to do this mods?). William you will also have to bear in mind your recovery period afterwards, as I and a lot of other post discectomy people are finding that you have to take it easy and recovery can take months rather than weeks, especially if you do manual work as in your case. Discuss how the operation and recovery will impact on your work and you can bring this into the equation. I had my op on Nov 1st and it has had a positive impact on both my quality of life and independence despite having aslight setback recently. I would definately do it again if needed and even with hindsight was the right thing to do. Good luck with your appt tomorrow and ask loads of questions. Let us know how you get on.

Take care,

Jules xx :D :D

• Posted

Hi Jules