Diverticuli throughout my whole colon

Posted , 3 users are following.

I just had a colonoscopy and the found diverticuli in every section of my colon.... transverse, ascending, descending and sigmoid. Does anyone else have them all throughout? Does anybody have any dietary advice so I can avoid future attacks of diverticulitis?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Yes that's me as well.  I've been managing this disease for 17 years almost.  You will find an excellent post on this Forum called Divi Diners, started by Jacqueline several years ago - just keep searching through this Forum. 

In the meantime my method of avoiding future attacks is to take a daily stool softener Fybogel (UK) or Metamucil (USA).  Mine is prescribed by my GP but if one doesn't suit there are others to try.  They are not laxatives, but bulk and soften the stool making them easier to pass and keeping the bowels clear.  I also take daily pure Aloe Vera and a probiotic - there are many available.  I kept a daily food diary to work out if certain foods triggered symptoms.  Modern doctors now say you can eat anything but that's not strictly true.  Most of us have foods that trigger pains but each of us is different.  Mine if gluten and full fat.  Others can't take nuts, seeds, pips, dairy, skins, popcorn, red meat - all sorts of different things which I can eat.  It's just trial and error.  Also eat well cooked small meals - no blow-outs to overwork your bowels.

At the first sign of a flare I go on a liquid only diet for 48 hours - that normally does the trick.  If an infection develops and antibiotics are needed then it's fluid only until the pain subsides, followed by a low residue diet without fibre ie mash, steamed fish, broth.  Finally slowly fibre is reintroduced in small quantities .  Good luck

• Posted

Thank you! I'll check out that dining thread and ask my doctor about miralax!

• Posted