Diverticulitis fear

Posted , 1 user is following.

hi.

I am new to this patient info site, but I am really needing a bit of advice.

I recently had the first attack of what was later diagnosed as diverticulitis.

I didn't take the prescribed antibiotics, and it cleared up by itself with limited effort on my part (few dietary changes) .

Now only 4 months later I have had a much more serious attack.... severe lower left abdomen pain, hugely distended stomach, sweating and chills.

I tried to contact my gp but couldn't even get a telephone appointment. As I still had the antibiotics from the first attack ,I have started taking them (3 days ago)

After reading far too much conflicting information on the Internet, I decided that I would be proactive, and made clear soup and went for a walk following advice that it would help.... I made it 300 yards before I was shaking, sweating and in pain from both my stomach, back and left hip... I suppose I'm scared now, I'm self employed and cannot see how I can work tomorrow.

can anyone offer me a positive response?, I also can't sleep and I feel really tired.

I don't know how I will effectively live with this and still maintain my job and my ability to cope. what should I do?. I don't want to read anymore horror stories because I'm a sensitive soul and I want to try and preserve my feelings.

if anyone could offer advice, or is there anyone I could speak to, like a helpline etc I would very much appreciate it.... feeling very isolated.

0 likes, 0 replies

0 Replies

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!