Diverticulosis and new job

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have to pass a physical to get a new job as a bus driver. Do I have to tell them about diverticulosis ? I dont get sick that often

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Definitely disclose your diverticulosis. It is better to be honest with your employer rather than hiding anything especially as you have great responsibility driving passengers to their various destinations. If you did have a flare up and it was found out you had not declared your condition, it could have consequences for your job if your illness affected your performance and the safety of your passengers.

• Posted

It's your responsibility to assess whether or not you can drive safely, and no one else's . If you were asking me which you are not then I would doubt that Diverticulosis would create any major hazard. It might at times make you uncomfortable but that in itself doesn't make you a danger to anyone. I was a driver myself for over 45 years and unknown to me I suffered from a serious illness which created blood pressure of 380/ 280 + no one ever questioned my condition outside the times of licence renewal. Eventually I ended up with total kidney failure which I could not ignore.

Good luck and try to keep calm, E

• Posted

It's your responsibility to assess whether or not you can drive safely, and no one else's . If you were asking me which you are not then I would doubt that Diverticulosis would create any major hazard. It might at times make you uncomfortable but that in itself doesn't make you a danger to anyone. I was a driver myself for over 45 years and unknown to me I suffered from a serious illness which created blood pressure of 380/ 280 + no one ever questioned my condition outside the times of licence renewal. Eventually I ended up with total kidney failure which I could not ignore.

Good luck and try to keep calm, E

• Posted