Do I have anemia, my symptoms and blood results

Posted , 4 users are following.

Dear all,

I need your help in interpreting my blood results. My symptoms are extreme fatigue, dizziness , high pulse rate, unbalance, and lightheaded.

I did many tests and brain MRI and all normal. My doctor said nothing abnormal. But low MCV and MCH values drawn my attention whether I have anemia or not. The results are as follows:

WBC 3.78

RBC. 5.91

HGB. 13.9

HCT. 43.6

MCV. 73.8

MCH. 23.5

MCHC. 31.9

RDW-SD. 39.5

RDW-CV. 14.7

Also I had Ferritin and Iron tests as follows:

Ferritin. 63.8

Iron. 80

Thank you for your help.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I am not a doctor. It's useful to see the labs ranges. It looks like you have small blood cells. This could be for a number of reasons. 

Your ferritin is not clinically significant I.e. It's likely to be in range but could be the cause of your symptoms. 

I think you could have iron deficeincy anemia with the lack of iron causing the smaller blood cells.

Are you going to follow up with a doctor to repeat test plus also test b12 and folate?

• Posted

Thanks a lot for the information. Yes I think also that I have iron defficiency . I tried to take iron Tablets since a week (35 mg twice a day) and I noticed a slight improvement in the symptoms. The problem is that my doctor is not convinced that I have anemia. My B12 test was before 5 months and it was 580 and I think it is good. Do you mean folate ( B9) can cause anemia itself? I haven't checked it yet.

• Posted

Hi, I have blood tests regular due to medication I take, I'll give you some normal ranges according to my record book from GP, white blood cell count is 4.0 to 11.0, haemoglobin 13.5 to 17.5 for a male adult, MCV 80 to 100, Ferritin I presume is the iron store measure which I think is 20 to 400, mine is 39, these measurements are in the UK, I don't recognise some of your other readings, if you look them up online it may tell you.

• Posted