Do I have mono?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've been having some classic symptoms of mono recently. I went to the doctor and got tested and a EBV panel was done. The EBV lgg, EBV VCA lgg, and EBV Capsid lgm all came back positive. I haven't heard back from the doctor directly yet but am assuming this means I have mono? Or at least have been affected recently? I'm sure my dr will get back to me soon I'm just getting a bit antsy. Thanks!

* I've never tested positive for mono in the past (last time tested was in 2011)

** I am 20 year old female.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hey there Juella,

So sorry to hear you have been having the symptoms of mono lately, just writing to let you know that this is a good forum for encouragement and advice. I'm not a doctor or anythhing, not really sure about the technical side of the blood test results, do speak to your doctor to get clarification.

Even if it is mono, want to offer some hope and reassurance - it is a nasty virus for sure, but you will recover and get better without any doubt. You are young and have lots of healthy and happy times to look forward to still. so hang in there. Would definitely recommend taking some vitamins / herbs to help boost your immune system, a good strong multi-vitamin per day for sure, and B complex vitamin is really good for energy levels. High doses of Vitamin C (1000mg to 3000mg per day), Vitamin D and also taking an immune boosting herb like siberian ginseng / peppermint can also really help.

Thinking about you and keep in touch to let us know how you are doing - and remember you will make a fully recovery, I truly believe that.

Take care

Craig

• Posted

Thank you so much for your care and concern, I do appreciate it!

And I will definitely be picking up some vitamins asap. Thanks again

-Julia

• Posted

Hi Juella,