Do I have RA or not?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi everybody,

I have a long story-noticed maybe in march of this year the middle knuckle on my right pinky finger was swollen & sore. Thought I must  have just injured it somehow and ignored it. It never really got better and then maybe in May/June I noticed the pinky on my left hand had the same swelling/pain!! Also, shoulder and hip pain plus stiffness, not just in the morning but whenever Ive been sitting for a period of time.  Went to see a Rheumy on Thursday and he said all my knuckles looked inflammed to him and also hips. Ordered many blood tests and xrays and started me on a 4 week decreasing dose of Prednisone. I'm seeing my test results online and everything is neg/normal!! Now I don't know what to think!! Is this RA or is it all in my head?! 

Thanks for any help!

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

I'm still learning about this disease. From what I've learned, you can have normal blood test and still have RA. Abnormal test's doesn't necessarily mean you have RA, weird huh?

The best advice I can give is to read as much about RA as possible and keep a log of your symptoms daily.

Is the Prednisone working?

• Posted

Do you have psorasis on your skin, at about 50 give or take apparently we become a risk for psorasis arthirits.

Mine started with swelling of my first knuckle on my right hand, eventually it advanced to other hand, wrists shoulders, GP kept telling me post viral syndrome, which it could have been but wasn't.

Rheumo eventually diagnosed me from swollen hands, like wearing boxing gloves, and just about as useful to do anything, incl holding spoon, hopeless for pens.

I show negative for RA in tests, apparently not that unusual, but I do have high ESR and CRP, these are both inflammation markers in your blood.