Do others without a spleen realise that we need a meningitis B jab as well as several others?t

Posted , 5 users are following.

Apparently we are at higher risk of certain infections if we don't have a spleen. Do others know that we need 2doses of Menitorix, a meningitis ACWY conjugate vaccine, 2doses of meningitis B and a flu jab every year and pneumonia jab every 5years.

our practice nurse says this is all from advice in 'the green book' which is the guidance that they follow.

1 like, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

hi i am new to all of this.  i just wanted some reasurance really.  i have been placed on the waiting list.  to have a total left hip replacement in may 2015.  i have watched a few videos regarding this surgery on youtube.  i have watched 4 videos on hip replacement so far.  and i have seen videos of people recovering and walking straight after the surgery.  basically i just want some reasurance really.  i like to hear from some one.  that recently had this surgery.  and hear their views on this.  many thanks.  
  • Posted

Hi mariecress, i came across your post cause I was looking for more info regarding recovering from pneumonia when you have no spleen. I live in the US and was not informed about these immunizations regarding pneumonia. Do you have more info regarding this that u can share? I'm trying to recover right now. Thanks.
  • Posted

https://patient.info/health/preventing-infection-after-splenectomy-or-if-you-do-not-have-a-working-spleen

In the UK the NHS follows guidance from the Department of Health. Vaccination advice is available in 'The Green Book'.

Chapter 7 outlines UK recommendations for vaccinating people with certain medical conditions, this includes advice for those with no spleen.

Hope that helps