Do you find that anti-depressants kill your creativity and drive?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hey, this is my first time posting so please be kind. So a bit about me relevant to this post is that I have suffered from depression and alcoholism for around 3 years now. I'm 23 year and a masters student. I have been on and off ADs in that time and have recently had my longest stint of taking them everyday from July.

I self-published a novel last summer (don't worry, this isn't a plug) and this made me happier and prouder than even my degree. But I have found since going back on ADs that I struggle to write, or think of anything original, or even interesting. This has worsened since going on 200mg of setraline a day (Zoloft for our American cousins). This was of course recommended by the government.

Does anyone else feel like ADs kills their creativity and drive? I feel like they make me better at everyday life but not writing. (British question, sorry) Do NHS funding cuts contribute to doctors going straight to good value ADs too quickly, rather than deciding case by case of this is the right method. Or does the responsibility land solely on the patient to be informed and decide if they are right for them.

Perhaps artists are just meant to struggle and be unhappy. Just look at Hemingway. Their suffering usually makes for a great read.

Marius. X

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is an effective treatment for depression. At the heart of CBT is an assumption that a person's mood is directly related to his or her patterns of thought. Negative, dysfunctional thinking affects a person's mood, sense of self, behavior, and even physical state. The goal of cognitive behavioral therapy is to help a person learn to recognize negative patterns of thought, evaluate their validity, and replace them with healthier ways of thinking.