Do you still have a meniscus following TKR?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Does anyone know if you still have a meniscus following a TKR?

I'm not sure if we still have these structures in place following this op?

I had an Arthroscopy to repair 2 tears in my right knee over 4 years ago, then I had a TKR on that knee in August last year.

Whilst recovering from this I fell down about 6 steps and hurt my left knee, I had an MRI in January and went for the results yesterday, I now have 2 tears in my left knee and have been put on the waiting list to have another Arthroscopy in about 6 weeks time.

I am so fed up with problems with my knees as I just want to lead a normal life again, think work is starting to get fed up with the amount of time I've had off with knee problems!! I'm a staff nurse so it has a big impact on my daily working life.

So I just wondered am I free from tearing my meniscus again now I have a TKR or not?

Hope some one can help please?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

The miniscus is part of the knee joint and is replaced by the artificial knee. Good riddance in my case. 
  • Posted

As far as I'm aware but I'm not 100% sure you don't have a meniscus with a TKR. I will ask my surgeon when I see him for my check up on the 18th.

I too work in a hospital so I totally get what your saying about work. Occy health have been great with me but I have no intention on going back to work until I am fully fit as this sickness will put me on a stage 2. 

Good luck with your next surgery. 

• Posted