Do you think a health app can help you manage you diabetes?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Is there anyone who uses the Apple Health Records app to manage their diabetes? If you're an Android user, would you be interested in getting the same service? I'm not selling anything, I'm a freelance journalist and I'd like to get patient experience, people who are interested in getting their health records on their phones and how it has changed their lives or at least in some capacities.

Thank you,

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

I don't, I keep my records with pen and paper, and my BP monitor keeps a record, too, but so far mine have been incompatible with my endocrinologist's readers, LOL.

In principle I think keeping records online is extremely promising and will become standard in a few years and we'll look back to "the old days" with the kind of horror we now have for medicine in the 19th century, or 9th century.

But it's also going to take a lot of getting used to, by patients, system builders, doctors and other medical staff, insurers, etc.

• Posted

Thank you for sharing! May I ask you if you have an iPhone or an Android?

• Posted

Thank you! Do you think that you use a pen and paper because there is a lack of trustful and useful apps or do you think it's a choice?

• Posted

Do you think that you use a pen and paper because there is a lack

of trustful and useful apps or do you think it's a choice?

I'm of a certain age so don't feel compelled to put my whole life into my phone just because! What would it need to capture? BG readings, sure. There are bluetooth meters now and they come with apps - though even the cheapest meters have their own memory and even graphs!

They should capture meals and activity and other drugs and random notes and comments, illness, even stress. And then what? Well, I have most of that on paper (not every meal item). I don't know how many people want to record all that.