Does anyone drink alcohol while on carbamazepine?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi

I'm new to this. i was diagnosed with TN 4 weeks ago after experiencing the worst pain of my life. I'd rather do child birth 100 times over. The pain has settled in the last few days, and the side affects of the tablets of eased. The doctor has advised that its best not to drink while on the tablets, but just wondering if anyone has and what the effects are?

Thanks

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hey Lisa, I have been on these a while now and was never told not to drink on them. I do drink now and again and just find It doesn't take much to get drunk now as alcohol just really goes to my head. Probably the meds so i would just advice that if you do drink do so with caution.

Hope the TN settles down soon lovely Xx

• Posted

aww thank you for your reply. I'm done abit of research tonight and your right most info just says its makes you more sleepy. I have to say to me if i couldn't ever drink again, i don't know what i would do. I don't drink massively but the occassional night out and holidays i like a couple. I think i will try a couple in the house first and see how it is. Thank you x

• Posted

I'm on this medication also... This medication alone keep me light headed & unsteady. I have sipped wine makes me go to sleep. I be in so much pain it wakes me out my sleep.

• Posted

no dont drink i have always been a moderate drinker for the last 50 years had to stop 2/3 years ago had the op no more pain just the frozen face i dont drink now except for the occasional one

good luck

• Posted

Hi,