Does the need for BPH meds decreasae after a Urolift?

Posted , 6 users are following.

Guys, I'm sure my questioin, "Does the need for BPH meds decreasae after a Urolift?" has already been answered somewhere on this site.  It's just that I don't know how to search on it.

I've heard it said that the Urolift procedure has the potential to decrease the need for BPH meds.  However, I'd like to hear from my brothers-in-suffering.  I, myself, take generic Avodart ("Dutasteride"wink, and I simply don't want to continue with this ... "therapy." 

Please.  What are your post-procedure experiences with the need to keep taking BPH meds?  Thanks, Alan

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

I'm not an expert  alan but here is how I see it. Urolift pulls back the prostate with "ties". So what you're really doing is compressing the prostate. Seems to me the prostate will continue to grow and make more trouble in the furture. Drugs like fenasteride slow the groth so it may be a good idea to keep taking it. Have you asked your uro?

• Posted

Thanks, brother.  I actually did ask my uro.  As you are well aware, some uros are quick to paint a rosy picture.  I'd rather hear it first hand from the guys on this forum.

• Posted

Hi alan, is dutasteride helping you ? Why are you considering stopping it and have a surgery ? Hank
    • Posted

That is a good question, Hank.  I've been taking dutasteride for nearly seven years, and it may be losing its effectiveness. On the other hand, things could be considerably worse for me, if I gave it up entirely.  The so-called promise of a Urolift is that one can cut back (or possibly eliminate) the need for meds.  I'd rather listen to the guys on here.  The only motivation they have is to help one another, and I appreciate your input.  THANK you.

• Posted