Don’t know what to do :(

Posted , 7 users are following.

hi guys....

i have bad anxiety and was prescribed 20mg prozac. this is my first time on meds.

its my 4th day and im so afraid. im so afraid of going crazy or losing my mind to the point i need an ambulance or to go to a mental hospital.

my anxiety is just.... through the roof. is this normal?

i dont know if i should push through or quit

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

hi im on day 11 of a different med duloxetine and feel the same way! what do you feel? my anxiety is so high im even having panoc attacks and fear? i though started feeling this way before instarted the meds so i keep tellikg myself its me and not the meds! dis the doc give you anything else to take to offset the anxiety till the meds kick in?

• Posted

The problem is that to get better we have to suffer these dreadful side effects, I am on fluoxetine and Tuesday it will be six weeks, at the moment I have a few good days and then not so good, I had no appetite couldnt eat, couldnt sleep, was very shaky and generally felt horrid, lost almost 3 stone.

I kept saying to myself you will get better, I have been on this drug many years ago and it worked then so I believe it will work again but every one is different some get better fast in a few weeks and others a few months, there is no set time for any one person.

just keep in touch on this web site, it will help you get through it,, its helped me.

• Posted

Thank you so much for sharing your story, I know this is hard.

I have been on a few meds and I personally did not think Prozac was the best for anxiety. It was very beneficial for other things but for me I just did not think it was the best.

I’d speak to your doctor as soon as you can, but in my opinion you are probably having this reaction because it’s not the best fitting meds for your needs. I think something like Lexapro or Celexa would perhaps work better.