Doxycycline for acne...

Posted , 3 users are following.

Is anyone taking doxycycline for acne? We have been on for a few months with trentenoin but it seems worse now?? This is so frustrating as we were just at the Drs about a month ago.. I feel so bad for my son and he's looking for me for answers.. : (

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

hi kelly....i have been using these treatments for 10 years. sometimes it geys better and sometimes it emerges with a condition worse than before. i suffered through acne vulgaris transforming to severe acne vulgaris. Can u send me images of ur son and also mention his age. i can give some suggestions. i know how depressing this is for teenagers as acne ruined my teen age.

• Posted

Thanks for responding... Now he has the 'congestion' that the Dr calls it... She gave us some Glycolic pads to try.. Not even sure they work but will try them at night. This congestion is really clogged pours--- flesh colored small bumps. He no longer get the white heads or the bigger bumps so maybe that is what the Doxycycline did for him. We also refilled the script at a different place a week ago and the pills were different-- same dosage but different manufacturer; prehaps this helped. I know everyone is different so what works for one may not help another.. I will try these Glycolic pads for these tiny bumps all over his face. I was also reading last night that some try BHA or AHA's. I may try this on his back... His back is clear except for these tiny bumps--- it's like sandpaper.

I finally made him realize that picking his face made it worse-- so he stopped and with whiteheads gone, it makes it easier. So now we have to work on getting these tiny flesh-colored bumps (cloogged pores) under control.Thank-you so much--- it's like a puzzle or mystery!

• Posted