Drinking to excess and sore mouth

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hey guys

Currently in a bad place with my drinking. I can go all day without it but pretty much drink every night.

As I’m on holiday at the minute I drinking most of the day. Over the last few days the back of my mouth is very sore. I’m now paranoid I’ve developed cancer ??. I’ve been drinking often for about 1 & 1/2 years. I’m a 37 year old male with a great job and wonderful family. 

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

I recently read that mouth ulcers can be caused by stress and a deficiency of vitamin B and folic acid. I think that both of these vitamins can be deficient due to excessive drinking. In my opinion, you should have your mouth checked my a medical professional but if it’s not cancer (you did not mention tobacco products) you may want to be sure to get these vitamins in your diet or purchase them from the drug store. Good luck with getting your drinking under control. I have been taking naltrexone for 3 months and my drinking has cut down by 80%. I know the results vary for this drug but it has been very encouraging for me. I do see an alcoholic counselor as well. Best of luck to you. Try to enjoy your holiday.

Michelle

• Posted

Thank you Michelle 

Appreciate the advice 😀

Good luck on your journey also! 

• Posted

I would guess it's not as bad as cancer. Not to scare you, but esophageal issues can be caused by excessive drinking and can be fatal.  I think that takes years though.  More likely a deficiency or just irritation from excessive drinking.  You should see a doc about your throat and ask about meds like Naltrexone or Campral.  They can work wonders to help get back into healthy moderation or even get to abstinence if that's what you're looking for.  For more info on that check out 

https://www.cthreefoundation.org/

• Posted

Hi leavesley

Are you by any chance drinking spirits?