Driving after right ankle break

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi,

I am new to the group. I am 4 weeks post op for a broken ankle in three places and a dislocation from missing a step. I go back to my surgeon on the 31 st and hope to start weight bearing. It is my right foot and I am concerned about driving. What should be my realistic expectation. I start school on August 14 and have a 45 minute drive. I am an itinerant teacher so I do a lot of walking and driving from school to school. My doctor said I could take the boot off to drive and put it back on when I reach my destination. By that time I will be 7 weeks post op. Would love some input Angela

0 likes, 39 replies

39 Replies

• Posted

Hi Angela' I'm now 4weeks out of my boot. When I told my consultant I can't wait to get behind the wheel again, he just told me that I had to be able to do a emergency stop. Am I going to try it? No.... Because I know it's going to be painful, but if anything happens where you had to do one, then you would just automatically kick in and do it. I've been driving for 2weeks now, not as easy or should say comfortable as I thought it would be. It does make my foot /heel. Ache as it's my right foot and manual car, but just to get that little bit of freedom is great. I went out on my own to take some thing back to store today, first time on my own. One crutch. Only out for half hr and glad to get back home. Painful... Ooooch but did it. I'm sure you will be OK just take it easy. Good luck. Sx

• Posted

Forgot to say that I was 12 weeks post op before I drove. But seems your doing well if you've been told you can take boot off to drive!! Sx

• Posted

Thanks Sandra,