droop over eye following surgery

Posted , 5 users are following.

I had cataract surgery in mid-December and have been very happy with the result, except that recently I've noticed the skin over that eye is drooping to the extent that it's beginning to affect my peripheral vision.

I've found one reference on the internet to this being a possible after effect of cataract surgery and intend to contact the public hospital eye clinic where I had the surgery, but I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this and what was the outcome?

1 like, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hello, I'm a medical student and we're currently studing the nervous system in class right now, so don't take my advice as medical advice!

By skin, do you mean the actual skin above your eyelid, or the eyelid itself is drooping? If the eyelid is drooping, you may be experiencing something called ptosis. If this is the case, the surgery may have accidentally damaged one of the nerves going to your eye, or one of the muscles controlling your eyelid. I would definitely call up the clinic.

Look into the mirror. Does the pupil in the surgery eye react properly to light? Does it constrict when light is shined into it and dilate in the dark? Are you able to properly move your eye up, down, left, and right in the full range of movement? These are probably things the clinic will test to narrow down what might be wrong and are important syptoms in determining whether you might have a nerve or muscle lesion.

• Posted

I too have been left with a droopy eyelid after cataract surgery and my eye has a dead feeling. I had a really rough surgeon and when she took the clip off I yelled.

I did your test with the light and the pupil is smaller than the other eye.

Can the nerve/muscle repair itself, my operation was 2 years ago. 

• Posted