Drug trial

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello Folks, this is my first post and i am heartened by the support that contributors freely give to each other here.  My bronchiectasis is of the mild sort with some coughing and production. I am 74.  I am curious to hear about your opinions on inhaled gentamicin (nebulised) as I am shadowing a UK trial of the drug, about to kick off next month, as an absolute beginner.  Has any one of you any experience of gentamicin, its pros and cons?  I hasten to add that I have never inhaled the stuff by any method of delivery and am interested only as an observer on a learning curve about trials and patients who volunteer. Can anyone help?

Terry.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hello Terry

i am sorry that you're got the dreaded bronchiectasis! I wish you a full recovery. I've used Gentamicin for a year, alternating with another inhaled antibiotic on a monthly basis. No side affect as such, but some people do get breathless. If that happens to you, please immediately speak to your doctor. Also, it is very important to make sure your inhaler equipment is kept very clean. I use baby bottle sterilising liquid, as well as a weekly blitz using bottle sterilisation steam machine. This way you are reducing the bugs developing on the equipment that you have to use daily.

Good luck, and stay healthy.

• Posted

Brilliant Sparkright and thanks for your advice. What is your other antibiotic? i don't actually use gentamicin and as I explained I am merely observing its usage in trials. I have used salbutamol and seretide when I was misdiagnosed with asthma but don't use any inhaler just now.
    • Posted